Wines
Le Colombier de Brown red

Le Colombier de Brown red

Made with Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot (generally a majority of the latter), Le Colombier de Brown red boasts delicious fruity flavours and juicy texture. Far from being a “standardised” wine, its profile reflects the conditions of the vintage, just like the Grand Vin, and the grapes are picked only when they have ripened to perfection.

For further information: download the technical information sheet for the 2014 vintage.
Download the technical information sheet
Le Colombier de Brown red
La Pommeraie de Brown white

La Pommeraie de Brown white

Made only in particularly generous vintages, the second white wine is made with a majority of Semillon, along with some Sauvignon Blanc. La Pommeraie de Brown White boasts the same smooth mouthfeel as the Grand Vin, thanks to the Semillon, and a delicately woody hint, in a slightly more nervy style.

For further information: download the technical information sheet for the 2015 vintage.
Download the technical information sheet
La Pommeraie de Brown white
La Pommeraie de Brown red

La Pommeraie de Brown red

Made with Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot (generally a majority of the latter), La Pommeraie de Brown red boasts delicious fruity flavours and juicy texture. Far from being a “standardised” wine, its profile reflects the conditions of the vintage, just like the Grand Vin, and the grapes are picked only when they have ripened to perfection.

LA REVUE DU VIN DE France: 15/20 – 2014 Guide to the Best Wines at under €20
LA POMMERAIE DE BROWN 2010: Lovely fruity expression for this very lively 2010. The palate is dynamic and long-lasting with nicely-pronounced tannins that will mellow in the bottle. A good, well-made wine.

LA POMMERAIE DE BROWN 2009 – Tasting Note:
A beautifully intense, deep colour with crimson tints. The bouquet is just opening up but is already very complex, beginning on resinous hints of cedarwood, leading into roasted coffee, chocolate and cigar when swirled around the glass. The palate is very supple and fleshy, evolving with good balance into elegant structure and femininity. The finish is long-lasting and scented, set off nicely by fresh, sappy tannins.

For further information: download the technical information sheet for the 2014 vintage.
Download the technical information sheet
La Pommeraie de Brown red
La Pommeraie de Brown

Second wines of Château Brown

As usual on all the great Bordeaux estates, Château Brown produces second wines – both red and white. They are to be found with two Pessac-Léognan labels: La Pommeraie de Brown and Le Colombier de Brown.

By the end of the 1990s, Château Brown had been renowned for the quality of its apples for several decades, hence the name of its little brother, « La Pommeraie de Brown ».  Its hectare of apple trees was uprooted in 1998 by Bernard Barthe (owner from 1994 to 2004), and has now given way to impeccable Cabernet Sauvignon vines on deep gravel soils. Le Colombier de BROWN refers to a beautiful stone dovecote set in the grounds facing the house – a sign of wealth back in feudal times.

The second wine is the reflection of the BROWN terroir and enjoys the same lavish care as the Grand Vin. The plots of vines are selected to make a fruitier, lighter, easy-drinking wine made to be enjoyed younger. Elegant and well structured, it can be enjoyed right away.

La Pommeraie de Brown

Les Vins
Le Colombier de Brown rouge

Le Colombier de Brown rouge

Composé de cabernet-sauvignon et de merlot (en règle générale, en dominance de merlot), Le Colombier de Brown rouge offre un fruit gourmand et une matière juteuse. Bien loin d’un vin « standardisé », comme pour son aîné, son profil reflète les conditions du millésime, sur un fruit récolté à maturité optimale…

Les mêmes soins sont apportés à l’élaboration du second vin, tant au niveau de la viticulture que de la vinification: vendanges manuelles, tri rigoureux des raisins, élevage en barriques de chêne français…

Pour en savoir plus sur la vinification, l’élevage et ce millésime, télécharger la fiche technique.
TÉLÉCHARGER LA FICHE PRODUIT
Le Colombier de Brown rouge
La Pommeraie de Brown blanc

La Pommeraie de Brown blanc

Elaboré uniquement les millésimes aux rendements généreux, le second vin en blanc est composé de sémillon, en majorité, et de sauvignon blanc. On retrouve dans La Pommeraie de Brown blanc l’onctuosité en bouche du Grand Vin apportée par le sémillon et un boisé délicat, dans un style plus nerveux.

Pour en savoir plus sur la vinification, l’élevage et ce millésime, télécharger la fiche technique.
TÉLÉCHARGER LA FICHE PRODUIT
La Pommeraie de Brown blanc
La Pommeraie de Brown rouge

La Pommeraie de Brown rouge

Composé de cabernet-sauvignon et de merlot (en règle générale, en dominance de merlot), La Pommeraie de Brown rouge offre un fruit gourmand et une matière juteuse. Bien loin d’un vin « standardisé », comme pour son aîné, son profil reflète les conditions du millésime, sur un fruit récolté à maturité optimale…

Les mêmes soins sont apportés à l’élaboration du second vin, tant au niveau de la viticulture que de la vinification : vendanges manuelles, tri rigoureux des raisins, élevage en barriques de chêne français…

LA REVUE DU VIN DE France :
15/20 – Guide 2014 des meilleurs vins à moins de 20€

LA POMMERAIE DE BROWN 2010 :
Belle expression de fruit pour ce 2010 plein de vie. La bouche est revigorante avec une matière longue et des tanins présents qui se fondront en bouteille. Bon vin, bien élaboré.

LA POMMERAIE DE BROWN 2009 – Commentaire de dégustation :
Très belle couleur intense, profonde, au reflet pourpre. Nez assez ouvert mais déjà très complexe, avec tout d’abord des nuances résineuses de bois de cèdre évoluant à l’agitation sur des notes boisées torréfiées, de chocolat, de cigare. La bouche est très souple et grasse dès l’attaque, évoluant avec beaucoup d’équilibre sur une structure pleine d’élégance et de féminité. La finale est longue, parfumée, l’ensemble souligné par des tanins pleins de sève et de fraîcheur.

Pour en savoir plus sur la vinification, l’élevage et ce millésime, télécharger la fiche technique.
TÉLÉCHARGER LA FICHE PRODUIT
La Pommeraie de Brown rouge
La Pommeraie de Brown

Seconds vins du Château Brown

Comme c’est la coutume dans toutes les grandes Propriétés viticoles bordelaises, Château Brown produit un second vin – en rouge comme en blanc. On peut le retrouver sous deux étiquettes d’Appellation Pessac-Léognan : La Pommeraie de Brown et Le Colombier de Brown.

A la fin des années 1990, le Château Brown était connu pour la qualité de ses pommes depuis plusieurs décennies, d’où le nom de son petit-frère, « La Pommeraie de Brown ».  Arrachés en 1998 par M. Bernard Barthe (propriétaire de 1994 à 2004), l’hectare entier de pommiers a aujourd’hui cédé la place à d’impeccables vignes de Cabernet Sauvignon sur un sol de graves profondes. Le Colombier de BROWN fait référence à un beau colombier en pierre situé dans le parc, face à la chartreuse – à l’époque féodale, signe extérieur de richesse.

Reflet du terroir de BROWN, bénéficiant des mêmes soins que le Grand Vin, mais issu d’une sélection parcellaire, le second vin est un vin de plaisir, au caractère plus fruité et léger, conçu pour être dégusté plus rapidement.

La Pommeraie de Brown