heritageJohn Lewis Brown

Roots across the Channel

The history of BROWN goes back almost one thousand years, with traces of vines here as early as the 12th century. Two centuries later, during the Hundred Years’ War between the Kingdoms of England (the Plantagenets) and France, Aquitaine and its vineyards were to remain in English hands for quite some time.

Château Brown owes its name to a rich Scottish wine trader, John Lewis Brown, who settled in Bordeaux shortly after the Revolution, in 1795. The former Château Barrière officially took the name Château Brown at the end of the 18th century.

In addition to his name, this wine and art enthusiast passed on his passion for the vine and for painting to his grandson, animal painter John Lewis Brown (1829-1890): his works from the 19th century – especially hunting scenes – can be found today in the Galerie Hermès, Musée Drouot and Tate London… Bordeaux thus saw the emergence of a precursor of Impressionism and it is even said that the Hermès brand drew inspiration from his paintings for the designs of some of its famous silk scarves…

J.L. Brown was also behind the construction of Château Cantenac-Brown (Margaux) and was known for his luxurious lifestyle and countless receptions organised in the Médoc.

 

Le Hussard JL BROWN

“Le Hussard” by JL Brown, in Libourne Fine Arts Museum

 

A great fallen on hard times

etiquette 1920

Label of BROWN 1er cru, in 1920

In 1884, at the Amsterdam Universal Exhibition, Château Brown won a gold medal alongside Château Mouton, Château Leoville-Poyferré, Château Pontet Canet… Then, through the decades and successive owners, the estate had moments of glory and of oblivion through to the 1930s.

The Bonnel family bought the château in 1938, shortly before the Second World War, and was to run it for three generations.

The winegrowers of the Graves drew up a classification in 1953 (and then again in 1959) distinguishing 16 red and white Crus Classés. At that time, the vineyard of Château Brown did not fulfil the classification requirements and therefore could not be listed.

 

litographie annees 1980

Lithograph of the Château in the 1980s

 

Renaissance of the estate

l’héritageJohn Lewis Brown

Un lieu au passé anglo-saxon

L’histoire de BROWN est quasi-millénaire, puisque l’on retrouve des traces de vignes datant du 12ème siècle. Deux siècles plus tard, pendant la Guerre de Cent ans qui oppose le royaume d’Angleterre (dynastie des Plantagenêts) au royaume français, l’Aquitaine – et donc ses vignobles – restent un temps dans les mains des anglais.

Le Château Brown doit son nom à un riche négociant en vins écossais, John Lewis Brown, établi à Bordeaux peu après la révolution, en 1795. Le Château Barrière prend alors officiellement le nom de Château Brown à la fin du XVIIIème siècle.

Ce passionné de vin et d’art a transmis à son petit-fils,  le peintre animalier John Lewis Brown (1829-1890), outre son patronyme, son amour des vignes et de la peinture : on retrouve aujourd’hui ses œuvres d’art datant du 19ème siècle – notamment de chasse à courre -dans la galerie Hermès, au musée Drouot, à la Tate London… Bordeaux vit alors se révéler un précurseur de l’Impressionnisme : l’histoire raconte même que la marque Hermès se serait inspirée de ses tableaux pour dessiner certains de ses célèbres foulards en soie…

Egalement à l’origine de la construction du Château Cantenac-Brown (Margaux), J.L. Brown est connu pour mener un train de vie fastueux, avec ses nombreuses réceptions dans le Médoc.

 

Le Hussard JL BROWN

Oeuvre de JL Brown « Le Hussard », exposée au Musée des beaux-arts de Libourne

 

Un château parmi les grands,
avant de tomber dans l’oubli

etiquette 1920

Etiquette de BROWN
1er cru, en 1920

Dès 1884, à l’Exposition Universelle d’Amsterdam, le Château Brown est consacré en remportant une médaille d’or aux côtés de Château Mouton, Leoville-Poyferré, Pontet Canet… Puis, au fil des décennies, les propriétaires se succèdent et le domaine oscille entre gloire et oubli jusqu’aux années 30.

La famille Bonnel acquiert le château en 1938, peu avant la seconde guerre mondiale : 3 générations se succéderont.

Les producteurs de Graves établissent un classement en 1953 (complété par celui de 1959) qui distinguent 16 crus classés en rouge et/ou blanc. A cette époque, le vignoble du Château Brown ne remplit pas les conditions de classification et la propriété ne peut malheureusement l’intégrer.

litographie annees 1980

Lithographie du château, dans les années 1980

 

La renaissance de la propriété